

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation **South Carolina Board of Examiners in Optometry** 110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4679 • <u>Contact.Optometry@llr.sc.gov</u> • Fax: 803-896-4719 <u>llr.sc.gov/opto</u>

# Optometry Licensure by Endorsement Requirements and Application Process Overview

## **Licensure**

A person is qualified to receive a certificate of licensure by endorsement if the following requirements are met:

- Submission of a completed application and payment of licensure fee(s).
- Graduate from a school or college of optometry which is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Optometric Education and requires four years of attendance. Institutions accredited by other accrediting bodies must be review by the Board prior to approval.
- Submission of verification of current and in good standing optometry license in another jurisdiction. Applicant must have practiced at the therapeutic level during the preceding twelve (12) months or twenty-four (24) of the last thirty-six (36), and is authorized by law to treat glaucoma.
- Submission of documentation showing satisfactory completion of the examination by the National Board of Examiners in Optometry offered at the time of first licensure or passing of the TMOD.
- Pass the South Carolina Optometric Jurisprudence Examination.

Applicants will be made eligible for the SC Optometric Jurisprudence Examination after completed application is submitted to the Board.

#### **Application Process:**

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

- **1. Application** In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent:
  - <u>Application Fee</u>: \$525 application fee must be submitted in order to transmit the application. Check or money order are to be made payable to SC Board of Examiners in Optometry. (Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable) A *returned check fee of up to* \$30, or an amount specified by law, <u>may be assessed on all returned funds</u>.
  - Identification:
    - Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport
    - Copy of Social Security Card, signed
  - Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence Form

- <u>DEA Registration</u>: DEA registration is required for licensees who prescribe controlled substances. Information regarding SC requirement for DEA Registration can be found on the <u>SC DPH, Bureau of Drug Control</u> website.
- **Legal documentation of name change:** (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)
- <u>Personal History Questions</u>: You will need to attach a written explanation for any "Yes' answers in the Personal History Information section on a separate sheet of paper. Additional information may be requested by the Board Office or a Board appearance may be necessary.

## 2. Documents to be sent directly to the Board from issuing agency/institution

### <u>Education Verification</u>:

- Contact your School Registrar's Office and have an official transcript sent directly to the Board office. Transcripts may be email to <u>contact.optometry@llr.sc.gov</u> or mailed to the Board office.
- License Verifications: Contact each state board you are currently or have previously been licensed with and have the license verification sent directly to the Board office via email or mail. We accept State Issued License Verification forms.
- <u>Examination Scores</u>: Contact the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) and request a copy of your scores be sent directly to the Board office. Scores may be email to <u>contact.optometry@llr.sc.gov</u> or mailed to the Board office.
- **3. Jurisprudence Examination:** Once the completed application is approved, you will be emailed instructions with a UserID to take the exam online. A score of 70 or higher is considered a passing score. Do not send in your certificate of passing, the Board is automatically notified.

To prepare for the Jurisprudence exam, you should review the Optometry Laws and Regulations located on the website at <a href="http://www.llr.sc.gov/opto/laws.aspx">www.llr.sc.gov/opto/laws.aspx</a> .